Marek Oerlemans


Find out about my work

View My GitHub Profile

My name is Marek and I do deep learning for cancer risk prediction. My main interests are in (stochastic) optimization and representational learning with applications in classification and segmentation. I often read about generative AI as well. Also check out the website of the AI for Oncology group I’m part of at the Netherlands Cancer Institute:


If you have any interest or ideas relating to my work or my interests feel free to reach out to me.

LinkedIn Email Google Scholar


I will add the most current news items here.

Older news can be found at news


My main work is in Python, specifically Pytorch. I’m learning the ropes of becoming an admin on our huge (Linux-based, duh) GPU cluster. I have been speaking Dutch for the past ~26 years and speak some English and German as well. My Duolingo streak on Italian is 19 days at the moment of writing. My professional experience included a few internships and part-time jobs as a deep learning engineer at a start-up, quantitative financial researcher at a pension fund, and a mathematics tutor for high school students. Maybe if I am determined enough to figure out how to upload a real CV here, I will do it, but at the moment I’m not. Feel free to request it though.


When What and Where Specifics
2022 - present PhD student at The Netherlands Cancer Institute and Leiden University. Using deep learning on histology scans to do risk prediction in ductal carcinoma in situ.
2020 - 2022 MSc Applied Mathematics at Delft University of Technology. Specifically focusing on numerical mathematics.
2019 - 2021 MSc Econometrics: Quantitative Finance at Erasmus University Rotterdam.  
2016 - 2019 BSc Econometrics and Operations Research at Erasmus University Rotterdam.  

Publications and other publicly available work

Well…. Hopefully, this will not be empty for a long time 😜

I have some stuff online on Google Scholar and I’ll add it when I feel like it


In my free time I’m an avid cyclist, mountainbiker, and runner. I also like to visit the mountains (although we do not have those in The Netherlands) to climb, hike, and ski. When I’m sitting down I like to read books about economics and sometimes try to learn some extra mathematics by reading math textbooks. I used to live in Rotterdam, now I live in Utrecht.